If You Weren’t Dead Already I Would Kill You: The Most Disappointing Shows of 2010 continued…

Posted: January 23, 2011 in Why Make a Ficus Cry?
Tags: ,

2. The Walking Dead

This show made me think the writers were dead. Or at least they thought the viewers were. Or at least it made me wish I were dead. It perhaps suffers like the Pacific, from a genre which has been so saturated in recent years that it is on the verge of cardiac arrest. Regardless, watching this show was a terribly difficult experience to endure. The writing is dull and very uninspired. The scope of the story is so very limited you would have thought the show didn’t revolve around an ‘end of the world’ type scenario. The characters, oh Treebeard, the characters…The best thing Icould say is that they were caricatures, stereotypes or cardboard cut-outs. Mr Good Sheriff and southern redneck and the wife cheating with the husband’s best friend…really? To be fair, the zombies were more than sufficiently creepy. But those forlorn souls could not sustain my interest beyond the first hour. Hell, at least it wasn’t a 13 episode season. Yuck.

Comments
  1. Omniscient Sponge says:

    Perhaps they are too tied down to the source material? I can’t say for sure since I don’t possess the necessary limbs for graphic novel reading and thus have not managed to read it. Sponge wonders if he can get it on his iPod…..

    I find the story somewhat endurable. Shortround still cracks me up in any case. He just needs to shout “Indy!”.

    It is beyond me why they nickname the walking dead “Geeks” thought.. Highly offensive to a certain subset of the human species.

  2. Dear Omniscient Sponge,
    It really does wet my soil when one as absorbent as you comments on my scribes. I have to honest and admit that I couldn’t actually finish the show. I gouged out my visual receptacles with a nearby sprinkler.
    A smart, tech-savy asian-american? Whatever will they think of next?

  3. […] on TV, but TWD and Rubicon are fairly mediocre. TWD especially is less than captivating viewing.  ‘Crap’ I called it. A Mad Men-less AMC schedule certainly devalues the overall quality of the […]

Leave a Reply

